ARPDC Professional Development Resources
Dedicated to ongoing professional learning at the local, regional and provincial level.

Seven Sacred Teachings

Seven Sacred Teachings, also known as the Teachings of the Seven Grandfathers, is a set of teachings on human conduct towards others. This guide is intended to facilitate conversation and provide strategies on how to best support all students with a continuous focus on positive character attributes that can help build classrooms where students are ready to learn and teachers are able to teach. This resource is focused on professional development for educational assistants, teachers,  instructional leaders. schools and districts.  This resource supports a student/classroom connection an an Alberta Education program or initiative.

Type(s):Learning Guides, Text Resource, Videos, Websites
Focus(s):First Nations, Métis, Inuit
Audience(s):Education Assistants, Instructional Leaders, Teachers
Teaching Quality Standards:
  • Apply knowledge of First Nations, Métis, Inuit
Principal Leadership Quality Standards:
  • Support knowledge of First Nations, Métis, Inuit
Keyword(s):Culture, FNMI, Indigenous
Level(s):Early Learning, Elementary, Junior High, Senior High
Date Posted:January 03, 2017